Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

liebster-award

Wow, I am just super surprised and excited about this! I’ve never been nominated for a blogging award before, so a big {THANK YOU SO MUCH!} to the lovely Nicola over at http://tenthousandladybirds.wordpress.com/?ref=spelling for picking my odd little blog! And to all my 26-27 readers, go check out Nicola’s blog because her posts are always enjoyable and often completely adorable thanks to the cute-kid factor!

Apparently it’s an award for smaller blogs of less than 200 followers, to point people to little-known spots of coolness on the Web. According to the rules, I need to–wait. I need to make a list.

LIEBSTER AWARD RULES!
– Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you and display the award.
– Answer 11 questions the blogger gives you.
– Give 11 random facts about yourself.
– Nominate 11 blogs you think are worthy of the award (but they must have less than 200 followers).
– Let the bloggers know you nominated them.
– Give them 11 questions to answer.

Right then, I’ve acknowledged the wonderful . Now I’ll answer these 11 questions given to me.

1) What made you want to start your blog?
Well, I love to write and I love to talk…I guess in lieu of gabbing my husband’s ear off in the evenings about trivial things, I type it all out on here. And I like the sound and feel of typing better than writing with pen and paper…
Hmm, weird reasons but there it is.

2) If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you be?
Goodness, this one is tough. I love where I am, in Italy…but I would also love to live in Spain, where my best friend is from and will be moving permanently…though it would be nice to have a historical house in Beaufort, NC….I think if I had the choice, I’d keep travelling and living in different places forever!

3) Who would you like to play you in the movie of your life?
Most definitely Jennifer Lawrence.

4) What’s the last book you read?
Moonshot: The Inside Story of Man’s Greatest Adventure by Dan Parry. EXCELLENT read, even if you’re not a space nut like me.

5) Favourite time of day?
I guess it depends on what is going on that day….I like sunrise for running, sunset for kayaking or generally being out near water, midday if I brought something yummy for lunch, and any time I’m going somewhere new.

6) What is your earliest memory?
I have this odd, vague memory of being slightly higher than an old brown, orange, and green couch cushion. It was dim, like lamplight….

7) What would you say is your biggest achievement in life so far?
Well I am super proud of running a half marathon, but I’d have to say my biggest achievement is having two healthy, intelligent, and polite children.

6) What is your greatest fear?
Losing someone I love while being far away from family and not being able to say goodbye.
Also nuclear radiation.

7) Which of your physical features would you say is the best?
My eyes and nose look just like my grandma’s, which makes me happy. My legs are short and not awesome-looking, but I like them a lot because they will keep going for hours and not fail me!

8) What is your guilty pleasure?
Nero d’Avola + chocolate + anime/fanfic. All alone. That makes for a great evening!

9) What’s your fancy dress costume of choice?
In real life…I tend to go for flapper style. In my dream world…I’d wear 18th century, Marie-Antoinette-style dresses every time.

10) What is your happiest memory?
My wedding, and a couple of years ago for Mother’s Day, a picnic on a sandbar at sunset.

11) What’s your favourite meme?
Oh, so many….most referencing Harry Potter or Avengers…but this one is totally me:

e21e54aeaccd7b416dd754ad126f6825

Now, 11 facts about me…

1. I have lived in a tiny log cabin in the woods with no heating or A/C, just like Laura Ingalls.
2. I would love to one day have my own completely self-sufficient homestead.
3. I declined moving to Japan just because I am terrified of nuclear radiation.
4. I would drop everything and go to Syria in a heartbeat to aid humanitarian missions if I had long-term child care or a stay-at-home spouse.
5. I have wandered all over a small town in the heart of Germany with a German lady (who had never been there) and a Russian lady, neither of which spoke English, I don’t speak German…and had one of the most fun times in my life, laughing like loons and linking arms like old friends.
6. I have overcome substance abuse.
7. I constantly quote or reference Harry Potter and hardly anyone gets it! :(
8. I am a huge HIM fan and have a heartagram tattoo. (Also a deathly hallows tattoo if you must know..)
9. I still live in the 90s as far as music and entertainment go.
10. Sometimes….I read the Daily Mail….(winces)
11. When I was younger I wanted to be an astronaut or a fighter pilot.

All right then, here’s the part where I share the love and nominate 11 more blogs for the Liebster Award! This gave me some trouble, since basically all of the few blogs I follow have more than 200 followers. So I had to go out searching to find my favorite small blogs! It was a fun experience, and also why it took me so long to publish this post.

The nominees are……….

1.http://candiesandcrunches.com/ Okay, technically she has 280 followers, but she writes a fun fitness blog, and is super sweet to boot!

2. http://thesardoniclibrarian.wordpress.com/bio/ Honestly, I think we could be good friends in real life.

3. http://heymiyuki.wordpress.com/ Cutest post images ever, and awesomely inspiring posts. Was a bit confused since the number of followers says 119 but then elsewhere there are many more.

4. http://legendinmylunchbox.wordpress.com/ Great recipes and tips for plant-based lifestyles!

5. http://dangermencooking2.wordpress.com/ Lots of vegan recipes that this dad has made kid-friendly!

6. http://samandmurphy.wordpress.com/ A man and his dog; adorable cartoons!

7. http://40islikethenew30.wordpress.com/ Fun read!

8. http://imightbeageek.wordpress.com/ Yet another total stranger I feel I could be friends with.

9. http://sassandbelleblog.com/ Florence the Owl, plus cute gifts!

10. http://runbritchickrun.wordpress.com/ Awesome Mum, and inspiring runner!

11. http://mooddressing.wordpress.com/ Outfits of the day, and funny blurbs!

All right, you eleven bloggers, here are your questions to answer:

1. What is your favorite word or phrase?
2. Dogs, cats, or other–and why?
3. What was the best part of living where you grew up?
4. What’s the best part of living where you are now?
5. What was your last dream about?
6. Have you ever pranked someone in an epic way?
7. If you could ask your future self anything, what would it be?
8. How would you describe your personal style?
9. Have you ever met a celebrity?
10. What is your favorite thing to do in downtime?
11. What is the last thing you photographed?

Sorry for horrible linking skills, I could not get the code to work!

